Fractals and painting

I’ve noticed particularly in backgrounds that once I have an idea of what I want the background to look like I paint it quickly and it often exhibits the reality illusion. This has often been quite surprising; on one painting I just wanted to fill in the background quickly which I did, then went to get tea and when I returned the background just jumped out at me with the reality illusion. My initial explanation was that the background matched closely the mental image of that I was trying to paint. I was surprised at how quickly this background came together and I’m starting to wonder if it’s because it was fractal-like. This particular painting did not turn out well.

Fractals definitely mimic reality and they are surprisingly simple. Painting is certainly not a fractal but it should be able to be done as if it were. Ironic that I’m thinking about making my painting more fractal-like in order to mimic reality, when it’s the fractals themselves that mimic reality. I notice that with some paintings I can fill in large areas very easily and without looking at a photo at all. I think that I have somehow replicated a fractal-like component of the image and am using it to paint whatever area. I don’t know how I do this. I’m trying to work out how best to use this idea but I’m not having much luck. It may be that it’s just not practical as we don’t usually think consciously about fractals; even though we may use them regularly. This is the lion in the grass conjecture but even if we use fractals to spot the lion, they may be ingrained in us at such a basic level that we can’t access them to do something like art.

