The Struggling Artist

Do you need to struggle to be an artist? I don’t believe you do. To be an artist you might struggle but I believe anyone can become an artist and struggling isn’t necessary. Some people may have challenges and that may give them a very different view of reality and some difficulty reaching their goals. If they subsequently become an artist then any challenges they have will likely show up in their work and that might make the work very special. I don’t use the term ‘special’ in any derogatory way. Van Gogh was just bat-shit-crazy, Michelangelo wasn’t much better and da Vinci was paranoid in the extreme. We remember artists as struggling but maybe those are just the artists that show up in history. I’m under no illusions that any of my work will ever be considered special, it’s lucky that I enjoy painting.

