An Old Art Book

I was looking at an old book about Pen Drawing. The thing I find interesting is how little needs to be drawn to represent the scene. Of course with pen drawing only the darkest areas need to be shown, so the image is being represented only by shadows. I have more to work with painting and the reality illusion sometimes starts very early. I don’t think I ever got a reality illusion with pen although I certainly liked some better than others. I remember drawing my wife’s pet dog many years ago. Wonderful dog. I finished the eyes, nose and ears before deciding that it was a bust and just wouldn’t work. It was for my wife’s birthday and it was that day, so I finished the rest very quickly. My Wife came home and loved it so it’s hanging on our wall today. There is no reality illusion but it looks like my wife’s dog. For me the reality illusion doesn’t appear without colour.

https://archive.org/details/pendrawing17502gut

