I Sketch With A Brush

When I start a painting I might sketch in the basic details with pencil but I usually start right in with a brush. I know that any preliminary sketching I might do will be painted over in any case so I just use a brush and get the general locations worked out. With the painting I’m working on presently I did paint in the boats but they were immediately covered with sky and water. Now that I have some work done on the mountain mist and water it’s time to paint in the boats.

Many artists can’t work this way but it allows me to reconsider almost everything. I used to work with a detailed sketch and sometimes I had to. Oil paints dry very slowly and I had trouble when everything was wet. Acrylics dry very quickly so wet paint is not a problem but fast drying creates problems of its own so it’s a bit of a trade-off.

