Warm Colours

I’ve had trouble for years with ‘warm’ colours because I know that blue is a hotter colour than red. People generally equate red with warm because fire is red and if a stove element is red we have been trained from an early age not to touch it. On the other hand snow is cold and looks blue so blue must be cold right? I remember finding out about the colour spectrum and being very confused about colour temperature. I’m still confused because if I want to warm up colours I make them redder. If I want colours cooler I add blue.

I’ve stopped worrying about these distinctions and just paint. I still think of warm as red and cool as blue. I bet this colour temperature concept is universal but I would be interested to know if other societies and languages have a similar problem.

