Sometimes I like my paintings

To be clear there is a time with all my paintings, except the failed ones, that I like them. I’m half-way through a painting now and it’s just starting to jump off the canvas. I like it and enjoy working on it. This has happened with other paintings I’ve worked on and its fun. Unfortunately when I finish I see areas that I like and others that I like less. Generally I work on the parts of a painting that are seriously lacking so by the time I’m finished I don’t hate any part of it, but I always see the shortcomings. This leaves me in the unfortunate position of having to say that I don’t like my work; it would be more accurate to say that I’m unsatisfied with them.

I don’t really know if I like a painting until a year or so has passed. At that point it’s been in the attic or somewhere else out of sight. I don’t immediately remember it and find myself wondering who painted it. At that point I can decide if I like it or not.

