Painting Failure

Some paintings just never make it. I’ll have an idea that I really want to pursue but I don’t have the right subjects or images and I never get started on the painting. I’m OK with that. The ones that really bug me are the paintings that get started but I can’t finish even if I have all the images I need.

I have a painting of a flower that I could never finish. I kept getting lost in the petals. I would start work on a section of the flower only to discover later that I was working on the wrong petal. This happened four or five times and eventually I gave up and put the painting aside. I think about going back to it but the next painting always seems to be a better option. Generally I don’t like going back to a painting after I’ve finished but in this case it’s unfinished so I might be OK with it.

