Handling Criticism

So the question came up how do I handle criticism? This wasn’t about my painting but rather graphic design and it was some years ago. The trite, simplistic answer is that I ignore it. But it really depends on where it is coming from.

My wife and daughters give me lots of criticism. It’s helpful, I use it to determine where an image needs more work. After looking at a painting for weeks I can no longer see what is right and wrong in the image.  I could put it away for a few weeks and then look at it again, but I want to know NOW! I hate going back to a painting to fix or change things so I use the people I trust to give me insight that I am missing.

I’m not naive enough to believe that everyone likes my work. It’s nice that some do and I appreciate it, but if they don’t it’s not going to change what I’ve done or how I do things in the future. I paint for myself and if you like what I do, thank you very much. I don’t like most of my own work because all I see are the problems. It’s nice to know someone just likes it.

