Do you have trouble writing about your art?

I do. It’s not that I am embarrassed, self-conscious or particularly shy. I just have very little to say about it. I like painting although sometimes I find it frustrating. I rarely like the finished product. In the rare instances that there is some part of the work that I think is good, it is time to celebrate. It’s certainly surprising. I’ve been asked why I continue to paint if I don’t like the result. I like to paint. The result doesn’t really matter so I put it in my attic and start another painting.

I like talking about techniques. No one believes me when I tell them that anyone can paint. A couple of techniques and a little desire and you’re good to go. Now this doesn’t make a great artist; I have no idea what actually makes a great artist, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t paint if you enjoy it.

I like painting on flat surfaces. I’ve been painting on canvas for years but I have had the opportunity to paint on board and I like it. Lately I’ve been using modeling paste to smooth out the canvas. I might try switching to Linen, it has a little less tooth. Opus caries painting boards that are quite large and reasonably priced so I might do more painting on board.

Subjects to write about? Here is a Website with over a hundred ideas for things to write about. I’ve been using it lately and it’s really helpful.

http://www.artpromotivate.com/2012/05/103-topics-to-write-about-for-art-blogs.html

One thought on “Do you have trouble writing about your art?

  1. I have luckily stopped picking apart my paintings for others. I get feedback from my wife and daughters. They can be brutal but it works. One of my daughters is also an artist so the feedback is different and useful.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.